Yesterday, Sarawak Chief Minister announced the withdrawal of four Sarawak-based Barisan Nasional parties from the Federal coalition. The four parties are Parti Bersatu Bumiputera, Parti Rakyat Sarawak, Sarawak United People’s Party and Progressive Democratic Party. This move deprives Barisan Nasional of 19 seats in Parliament, reducing its strength to 60. DAP Sarawak chief Chong Chieng Jen said the parties did it for political survival and not because of true change. He called the move “superficial”. Today, we explore how this move changes dynamics both at the Federal and State level.


Presented by: Sharaad Kuttan, Melisa Idris, Tan Chung Han